Westlaw Classic

Available at : Online Access
Off-campus Access Rights : P - PolyU Staff/Students only
On-campus Access Rights : P - PolyU Staff/Students only
Terms and Conditions

Westlaw Classic, formerly WestlawNext, covers thousands of publications, most of which are available in full-text.  It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

Law:  Contains the full-text of court opinions, statutes, and regulations from state and federal governments; in excess of 800 law reviews and journals; a legal encyclopaedia, American Jurisprudence, and Black's Law Dictionary.  Includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation. Statutes, court decisions and related European Union material is also included.

News:  Contains full-text of newspapers including The New York Times, Boston Globe, Atlanta Journal-Constitution; magazines such as Newsweek, Consumer Reports, and Atlantic; over 400 newswires; newsletters; and over 900 broadcast transcripts.

Business:  Selected business, trade and professional journals and publications, including Advertising Age and The New England Journal of Medicine.  Also contains company information e.g., Hoover's Company Records, including profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations, and SEC Filings.

Westlaw Classic replaces the previous Westlaw International from Jan 2016 onwards.


Important Notes:

  • Users should not use Virtual Private Network (VPN) service when accessing e-resources from off campus. This may trigger suspension of user's account.
  • For security reason, you are advised to change NetPassword regularly via IdPortal and follow the password rules. Please visit the ITS website for details.