Information Signposts
Give us feedback!
I am a:





Do you find the Topical Research Guide useful?
Not useful
Very useful

Finding Company Information

This quick guide is intended to give an introduction to finding company information. It is by no means an exhaustive list. Four major types of information are listed below:

 
Directories
Top

Greater China

Printed/Multimedia Materials databaseElectronic Resources Internet Resources

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

Hong Kong

  • WiseNews (1998+)
    Steps to find company information of HK listed company:
    [1. Click "Search" to access Wisers Information Portal
    2. Select “WiseSearch” from the tab “Database” at the top of the page.
    3. Select the "Company Search" tab next to “WiseSearch”
    4. Locate the company by selecting the relevant industry or inputting the company name/stock code directly.]

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

International

booksPrinted/Multimedia Materials databaseElectronic Resources webInternet Resources

 

 
Profiles / News
Top

Greater China

Books multi-mediaAV / E-learning Materials Internet Resources
  • To find a particular company: 1. Select Subject Search on the Library Catalogue
    2. Type company name, e.g. International Business Machines Corporation

China

  • EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service
    [1. Click China 2. Select the "Company" tab from the menu bar.]
  • Factiva
  • Infobank China (1997+)
  • Passport
  • WiseNews (1998+)
    Steps to find company news in China:
    [1. Click “Search” to access Wiser Information Portal   
    2. Select “WiseSearch” from the tab “Database” at the top of the page.
    3. Type in the keyword(s)at the search box
    4. Click "Listed Company" (under Search Options) and select either Shanghai or Shenzhen from the "Browse Listed Company List" pull-down menu.]

Hong Kong

Taiwan

  • EMIS: Emerging Markets Information Service
    [1. Click Taiwan 2. Select the "Company" tab from the menu bar.]
  • Factiva
  • Passport
  • WiseNews 1998+)
    Steps to find company news in Taiwan:
    [1. Click “Search” to access Wiser Information Portal
    2. Select “WiseSearch” from the tab “Database” at the top of the page.
    3. Type in the keyword(s)at the search box
    4. Click "Listed Company" (under Search Options) and select either Taiwan  from the "Browse Listed Company List" pull-down menu.]

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

International

booksBooks multi-mediaAV / E-learning Materials webInternet Resources
  • To find a particular company:
    1. Select Subject Search on the Library Catalogue
    2. Type company name, e.g. International Business Machines Corporation
 

 

Annual Reports
Top

To obtain company-specific information, try searching on search engines (e.g. Google) directly by company name.

Greater China

BooksBooks multi-mediaAV / E-learning Materials WebInternet Resources

Hong Kong

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

China

Hong Kong Taiwan

International

BooksBooks multi-mediaAV / E-learning Materials WebInternet Resources
  • Company annual reports of the latest five years are kept in Serials Collection (5/F). To find a particular company:
    1.
    Select Author Search on the Library Catalogue
    2. Type company name, e.g. Air New Zealand.

Canada / U.S.A.

Europe / U.S.A.

 
Financials
Top

Greater China

database Electronic Resources Internet Resources

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

China

Hong Kong

Taiwan

International

database Electronic Resources webInternet Resources

For the full list of databases, you may refer to Databases by Subject > Company Information

Back to Topical Research Guides Send Us Your Feedback

Last updated: Dec 2014